Stop the Cuts in Hackney! Demonstrate/Lobby Wednesday March 2nd 5.30pm!

Bring banners, bring placards, bring drums whistles and noise and above all bring your friends, collegues and neighbours!  http://www.hackneycitizen.co.uk/2011/02/25/hackney-alliance-protest-against-council-cuts/

Reports/Videos of 19th Feb 2011 Hackney March

Hackney March(ed) Against the Cuts!

Nearly 700 people braved cold drizzle on Feb 19th and joined the Hackney Alliance to Defend Public Services “Hackney Marchs Against the Cuts”! It was a fantastic turnout and a great march with a great atmosphere with people from all communities of Hackney marching to the sound of a samba band! Banners were there from Homerton Hospital Unison, Hackney Council Unison, Hackney Equity, Hackney Keep Our NHS Public, Day Mer and Gik Der and Anadolu Community Centres, North East London ANti Racist Alliance, Hackney Right To Work, Hackney Stop the War and many others! Speeches were heard, in English and Turkish, from Alex Gordon RMT President and Rob Williams Chair of the National Shop Stewards Network, Brian Gardener Chair Hackney Council Unison, Cllr Ian Rathbone (Leabridge ward) of ‘Their Cuts Not Ours’, Hackney Right to Work, Hackney Stop the War, Hackney Green Party, Youth Fight for Jobs, and many others, campaigners and ordinary Hackney people angry about national and local cuts to our services. And next up; Wednesday March 2nd! (Photos from Guy Smallman, Phil Wolmuth and Peter Marshall)

Labour Councillors on the cuts – Another View!

 

Labour Councillors on the cuts – Another View

Cllrs Ian Rathbone, Linda Kelly and Deniz Oguzkanli

Six Hackney Labour Councillors share their views on how we should fight the cuts..

 

The Con-Dem Coalition is attacking the fabric of a civilised society: NHS jobs and services are being cut and wholesale privatisation is planned. 3,500 young people in Hackney will lose Educational Maintenance Allowance and studen…t fees are tripling. Access to legal aid is being choked off. Housing benefit restrictions threaten people’s homes. Disrepair stemming from cuts in the Decent Homes programme will affect health and increase stress. 

Money available for local councils is to be cut back for four successive years. Some think we should protest – and wait for the next election.

Our view is that we cannot wait until the damage is done. Nobody voted to privatise the NHS or make our communities pay for the bankers’ crisis. The government has no mandate. The bankers’ greed caused the crisis – they and their rich friends should pay for it through targeted taxes and a crack down on the tax loopholes used by millionaires and big corporations. As Labour Councillors, along with supporters of the Labour Representation Committee, we support a campaign to defeat the policies of this government through public protest, opposition and defiance.

We would like to see local Councils across London leading the charge and refusing to adopt cuts budgets as a result of government enforced policies and producing a Needs Budgets to show what should be funded. This won’t give local Councils the money to keep services running – but it would give a big boost to the campaign to defeat the government.

Labour needs to reinvent itself as a political movement – not just a party of management and government. Local residents and community organisations need to share their concerns and inform local councillors of the impact of cuts particularly where women, older people, the young, people with disabilities and Black and Minority Ethnic communities will be disproportionately affected by the cuts.

We are facing a national and international emergency and this calls for exceptional measures to mobilise our people and defeat the Con-Dem Coalition. If we do not speak out, our silence will be taken for agreement.

Cllr Barry Buitekant
Cllr Michelle Gregory
Cllr Linda Kelly
Cllr Deniz Oguzkanli
Cllr Ian Rathbone
Cllr Patrick Vernon

Hackney LRC can be contacted at: PO Box 2378, London E5 9QU hackneylrc@hotmail.co.uk We also support: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Their-Cuts-Not-Ours/178128612200341

Ian Rathbone

Contact: 07890 654 068

There is an Alternative! The case against public spending cuts

Alternatives to cuts

There are alternatives to cutting public services:

1. CLOSE THE TAX GAP
Figures from the Tax Justice Network show that  £25 billion is lost annually in tax avoidance and a further £70 billion  in tax evasion by large companies and wealthy individuals. An additional £26 billion is going uncollected. This sets the  total annual tax gap at over  £120 billion (more than three-quarters of the annual deficit!). Leaked Treasury documents in 2006 estimated the tax gap at between £97 and £150 billion (and to put things in perspective, benefit fraud accounts for less than 1% lost through the tax gap).

If the Robin Hood Tax (0.05% of global financial transactions) was collected, it would reduce the deficit by 12.5-20%.

2. CUT THE REAL WASTE
The Trident system costs the UK £1.5bn every year.
The war in Afghanistan costs £2.6bn every year.

3. END COSTLY AND RISKY PRIVATE FINANCE INITIATIVES
Private Finance Initiatives or PFIs are difficult to finance during the recession. This means that as bank financing dried up, the government then lent PFIs public money (specifially from the Treasury’s Infrastructure Finance Unit), to the tune of £200bn.

4. WHAT ABOUT THE BANKS?
We should never forget that it was the banking sector that caused the recession, and is ultimately responsible for the huge debts that the UK has amassed. Despite causing the crisis, the banking sector has escaped any significant regulation, and bankers are again awarding themselves huge bonuses. As a result of the UK government’s £1.3tn bailout to the financial sector, the government still owns over £850 billion in bank assets,
roughly equal to the total UK debt.
Why not put these assets to good use, instead of pretending that it’s still ‘business as usual’?

5. KEEP THINGS IN PERSPECTIVE
The UK debt percentage of GDP is currently lower than that of Japan, the US, France and Germany. It was around twice as high between 1918 and 1961.

6. CUTTING PUBLIC SPENDING CAN MAKE THINGS WORSE
The experience of Ireland shows how cutting public spending can damage the economy. The crisis in Ireland was caused by the collapse of its banking sector. The massive cuts in spending and public sector pay that followed have increased unemployment and sapped demand, causing the economy to shrink further. Because of this, Ireland is now considered more at risk of sovereign default than before it started making cuts.

This is based on ‘There is an Alternative… The case against cuts in public spending‘, published by the Public and Commercial Services Union (who represent, amongst other sectors, staff at HMRC ).

Protest Cuts at Homerton Hospital Governors Meeting Thursday 17th Feb 5pm

Dear all,

The governors of the Homerton Hospital are meeting this Thursday 17 February at 5.30pm in the Education Centre at the Homerton Hospital.

As Homerton workers, users and local people we will be voicing our opposition to the cuts, in particular about the health advocacy and midwifery situation at present, and we urge you to meet at 5.15pm this Thursday outside the Education Centre to attend the governors’ meeting, hear their views and put our points across.

We will be handing in an open letter to the governors’ against the cuts.


This meeting is open to m
embers of the Homerton Hospital. To become a member (open to all who use the hospital, live in Hackney or work at the hospital) click on the following link: http://www.homerton.nhs.uk/general/search/?words=member

Thank you
Please circulate thi information and see you there

Tell your Cllr “Don’t vote for cuts!”

We have written a letter template to send out to your local Cllr to tell them not to vote for cuts. Labour Cllrs were not elected to cut services! Use this website to contact them http://www.writetothem.com/

Dear Councillor,

I’m writing to ask you to vote against the council budget that will mean cuts to jobs and services in Hackney.

More than 800 Council jobs could be lost.  Take, for example, the threat to Youth Services: 95 jobs and vital services to be axed. What impact will that have on young people living in a poor borough?

The Con-Dem cuts are an attack on the poorest and most vulnerable in society. We are sure that you did not stand for election to destroy services, sack people or make people homeless. Yet, if these cuts are implemented, that will be the result. Holding a political position means political responsibility and accountability. You are here to serve your constituents and to protect their health and well-being.

We believe it is possible to refuse to implement the cuts, by setting a needs budget. Our Mayor’s concept of “humane” cuts is untenable.  The depth of the economic crisis and the government’s solution to it will destroy people’s lives. The only alternative is to fight the cuts, by leading a borough-wide fight against them.

Up and down the country campaigns like ours are asking every council to do this.
We are  asking you to be part of building a movement that can challenge the cuts while they’re happening: not just in 4 years when it’s too late. Please vote against cuts on the
2nd of March and persuade your colleagues to do likewise.

Should you do so, I promise that you will have my full support and the full support of the Hackney Alliance to Defend Public Services, with its dozens of affiliated organisations, representing between them thousands of members.

Yours sincerely,

Hackney Councillors 2011

All Cllrs can be written to at; c/o Members’ Services, Town Hall, Mare Street, London, E8 1EA

Or a message left at 0208 356 3373

Councillor Luke Akehurst Chatham Labour Luke.Akehurst@hackney.gov.uk
Cllr Dawood Akhoon Cazenove Lib Dem Dawood.Akhoon@hackney.gov.uk
Cllr Karen Alcock, Clissold Labour karen.alcock@hackney.gov.uk
Cllr Bernard Aussenberg, Lordship Con bernard.aussenberg@hackney.gov.uk
Cllr Brian Bell, Brownswood Labour brian.bell@hackney.gov.uk
Cllr Oli De Botton, Brownswood Labour Oli.DeBotton@Hackney.gov.uk
Councillor Anntoinette Bramble, Wick Labour Anntoinette.Bramble@Hackney.gov.uk
Cllr Edward Brown, Lordship Labour Edward.Brown@Hackney.gov.uk
Cllr Barry Buitekant, Haggerston Labour barry.buitekant@hackney.gov.uk
Cllr Robert Chapman, De Beauvoir Labour Robert.Chapman@hackney.gov.uk
Cllr Feryal Demirci, Brownswood Labour feryal.demirci@hackney.gov.uk
Cllr Michael Desmond, Hackney Downs Labour michael.desmond@hackney.gov.uk
Councillor Tom Ebbutt, De Beauvoir Labour Tom.Ebbutt@Hackney.gov.uk
Councillor Susan Fajana-Thomas, Stoke Newington Labour Susan.FajanaThomas@Hackney.gov.uk
Cllr Philip Glanville, Hoxton Labour philip.glanville@hackney.gov.uk
Clor Margaret Gordon, Spring Labour Margaret.Gordon@Hackney.gov.uk
Cllr Michelle Gregory, Dalston Labour Michelle.Gregory@Hackney.gov.uk
Cllr Katie Hanson, Victoria Labour katie.hanson@hackney.gov.uk
Councillor Gulay Icoz, De Beauvoir Labour gulay.icoz@hackney.gov.uk
Cllr Abraham Jacobson, Cazenove Lib Dem Abraham.Jacobson@Hackney.gov.uk
Cllr Michael Jones, New River Labour Michael.Jones@Hackney.gov.uk
Councillor Linda Kelly, Leabridge Labour linda.kelly@hackney.gov.uk
Cllr Daniel Kemp, Victoria Labour daniel.kemp@hackney.gov.uk
Cllr Christopher Kennedy Wick Labour christopher.kennedy@hackney.gov.uk
Cllr Rita Krishna Stoke Newington Labour rita.krishna@hackney.gov.uk
Councillor Alan Laing, Hackney Central Labour alan.laing@hackney.gov.uk
Cllr Michael Levy, Springfield Con michael.levy@hackney.gov.uk
Cllr Sophie Linden, Dalston Labour sophie.linden@hackney.gov.uk
Cllr Samantha Lloyd, Hackney Central Labour samantha.lloyd@hackney.gov.uk
Cllr Clayeon McKenzie, Hoxton Labour clayeon.McKenzie@hackney.gov.uk
Cllr Jonathan McShane, Haggerston Labour jonathan.mcshane@hackney.gov.uk
Cllr Wendy Mitchell, Clissold Labour Wendy.Mitchell@Hackney.gov.uk
Councillor Rick Muir, Hackney Downs Labour Rick.Muir@Hackney.gov.uk
Cllr Ned Mulready, New River Labour ned.mulready@hackney.gov.uk
Cllr Sally Mulready, Chatham Labour sally.mulready@hackney.gov.uk
Cllr Angus Mulready-Jones, Dalston Labour angus.mulready-jones@hackney.gov.uk
Councillor Ann Munn, Haggerston Labour Ann.Munn@Hackney.gov.uk
Councillor Guy Nicholson, Chatham Labour guy.nicholson@hackney.gov.uk
Councillor Julius Nkafu, Kings Park Labour julius.nkafu@hackney.gov.uk
Cllr Deniz Oguzkanli, Leabridge Labour deniz.oguzkanli@hackney.gov.uk
Cllr Benzion Papier, New River Con benzion.papier@hackney.gov.uk
Cllr Sharon Patrick, Kings Park Labour sharon.patrick@hackney.gov.uk
Mayor Jules Pipe,   Labour  
Cllr Emma Plouviez, Queensbridge Labour emma.plouviez@hackney.gov.uk
Councillor Tom Price, Queensbridge Labour tom.price@hackney.gov.uk
Councillor Ian Rathbone, Leabridge Labour Ian.Rathbone@hackney.gov.uk
Councillor Alex Russell, Hackney Downs Labour Alex.Russell@Hackney.gov.uk
Cllr Ian David Sharer, Cazenove Lib Dem ian.sharer@hackney.gov.uk
Cllr Saleem Siddiqui, Kings Park Labour saleem.siddiqui@hackney.gov.uk
Councillor Linda Smith, Clissold Labour linda.smith@hackney.gov.uk
Cllr Simche Steinberger, Springfield Labour simche.steinberger@hackney.gov.uk
Cllr Daniel Stevens, Lordship Labour Daniel.Stevens@Hackney.gov.uk
Cllr Vincent Stops, Hackney Central Labour vincent.stops@hackney.gov.uk
Councillor Geoff Taylor, Victoria Labour geoffrey.taylor@hackney.gov.uk
Cllr Louisa Thomson, Stoke Newington Labour Louisa.Thomson@hackney.gov.uk
Cllr Patrick Vernon Queensbridge Labour patrick.vernon@hackney.gov.uk
Councillor Jessica Webb Wick Labour jessica.webb@hackney.gov.uk
Cllr Carole Williams Hoxton Labour carole.williams@hackney.gov.uk